top of page

Herzlich distanziert 2

Die Kolumne von Blessless Mahoney.

Foto: Uschi P. & Studio Weltfrieden



Hätte, hätte – Fahrradkette. Ja, hätte ich die zweite Folge dieser Kolumne wie angedacht Ende August geschrieben, so wäre sie doch vom Ton her deutlich positiver ausgefallen, das kann ich nun Mitte November recht bestimmt festhalten.


Da aber die Innenaufnahmen in die Sommerpause gegangen waren und das Wetter viele von uns nach draußen und weg von den Bildschirmen gelockt hat, blieb auch mein Vorhaben, die schönste Woche, die ich dieses Jahr erlebt habe, zu dokumentieren, zunächst unbearbeitet.


Ehrlich, ich hätte mir gewünscht, dass wir die Innenaufnahmen mit unseren Beiträgen wieder aufleben lassen, weil sie uns ans Herz gewachsen sind und wir sie gerne als zusätzliche Plattform zum kulturellen Leben weiterpflegen hätten wollen und nicht, weil es schlichtweg wieder notwendig wird, einen Ort haben zu müssen, wo wir uns austauschen und zumindest digital „begegnen“ können.


[An dieser Stelle schrieb ich eine längere Abhandlung über die Idiotie, die ich darin sehe, das kulturelle Leben im Land herunterzufahren, aber wem erzähle ich das? Vermutlich meiner eigenen, geneigten, queeren Echokammer – von daher, geschenkt, weil wirkungslos.]

Stemmen wir uns also gegen Vereinsamung und Angst sowie gegen kulturelle wie geistige Armut mit Beharrlichkeit, viel Telefonieren, gutem Essen, Spaziergängen, Kunst, Kreativität und Wut.


Gut, dass ein Teil dieses Beitrages zu den Innenaufnahmen aus einem Essay besteht, welches ich im August in Frankreich, anlässlich meines Aufenthaltes im Dora Maar Haus, verfasst habe. Wenn ich es lese, bin ich beglückt und betrübt zugleich, denn es ruft mir in Erinnerung, wie ich die bleischwere Erstarrung für einige Zeit abgeworfen und wieder Freude empfunden habe und kreativ sein konnte.


Zum Hintergrund: Ich wurde als artist in residence eingeladen – nicht als einzige, es waren bezaubernde Mit-Artistinresidenceler*innen dabei – um am Projekt CoArt – Covid & Kunst – teilzunehmen und einen Beitrag zur sich ständig erweiternden Ausstellung beizusteuern.


Das Projekt wurde von der Provence Academy und La Maison Dora Maar erdacht und unter der Federführung von Gwen Strauss, Christoph Klütsch und Daniel Plettenberg durchgeführt.


Über den Zeitraum einer Woche konnte ich schöpferisch tätig sein. Ohne den Austausch mit meinen Mit-Künstler*innen, die anregende Aura des Dora Maar Hauses und die Distanz zu Deutschland wäre das nicht möglich gewesen. Und so entstand mein Werk La terre sur laquelle vous marchez. Einen kleinen Eindruck vermittelt das Foto bzw. das Video. Über den Prozess seiner Entstehung erzählt mein Essay, das ich komplett vor Ort in Englisch verfasst habe, es gibt davon keine deutsche Übersetzung.


Nach dem Essay folgen noch ein paar Videolinks zum Projekt CoArt, zum Dora Maar Haus und dem Ort Ménerbes.


Viel Vergnügen beim Lesen & Schauen, herzlich distanziert, Ihre Blessless Mahoney


 

Installation von "La terre sur laquelle vouz marchez" in der Ausstellung von CoArt, Dora Maar Haus, Ménerbes, Frankreich

Fotocredit: Blesless Mahoney




Herzlich distanziert (Pt.2)


La terre sur laquelle vous marchez (2020)

I think of my work as an invitation for meditation. You bring everything that is necessary: Your feelings and thoughts, your knowledge and experiences in life and of course your experiences with Covid-19 and all that is affected by it. My explanations, the answers, the questions, my insights I found during the process of creating do not matter more than yours.


I didn’t start with the intention of presenting you with written or recorded explanations, as I started to develop my idea at home. I assumed that the questions that visitors might ask were like What is the meaning of this piece of art? and What is her point of view towards Covid-19, how is it tangible through her work? I aspired to create something that resonates in you and speaks for itself. The reasons for refusing explanations were – as I know in hindsight – the different states of feeling distant and removed from almost everyone and everything. And then the journey started from the moment I arrived at Dora Maar House.


And for those of you who would prefer the management summary, this is it:


Since the Virus reached my birthplace where my parents live and my hometown Hamburg, I was frozen and petrified on almost all levels. I live alone, I couldn’t see my friends, couldn’t go out, couldn’t work, neither at my daily job nor on my art projects. I lost all creative energy and was afraid almost all the time. Social distancing to me meant not being social and being distant to the world, to all people and to myself. This lasted four, five months. There was fear.


Les roches tombées du ciel

A first change came when Didine, my creative partner of 30 years, and I did a show on our local radio station in April. It felt right, light, warm, and we received an overwhelming response from our listeners. And there was joy. Joy and a first tentative re-connecting with the world. My stay here in Ménerbes brought more joy: joy to play with objects, joy to experiment with languages. I re-connected surprisingly quick with my creative inner forces thanks to all the people here, co-fellows as well as visitors at the a table evening at Dora Maar House and thanks to this village and landscape. The result of this inspiring conditions is my work: La terre sur laquelle vous marchez.


As I said, you bring everything to start your own meditation, but if you are interested here are some of my thoughts. Most of them are pretty vague, others are clear and precise.


Pierres de lune

The first Idea – inspired by Didine – was to create a domestic altar for the exhibition just like the ones in my home. Little triptych-like wooden shrines hanging on my walls with beloved little things and photos I collected over the years. My magical safekeeping for memories and spiritual dreamcatchers. Places where I collect some of my stories. Little condensation points where my stories kind of dwell and transform.


The first sketch I imagined like this: three old wooden boxes – the triptych-form – on the floor, in a row. In the boxes broken pieces of something that resembles big eggshells. These pieces rest on different layers. In one box it will be old linen, in the other it is dust from ochre, and in the third box the shell-like pieces will be bedded on dry herbs like lavender and thyme. The amount of shells would differ from box to box, and maybe one piece would have been painted in a strong color like red or gold.


Objets trouvés

That was my first idea, it stayed unchanged in my mind for weeks until I went to France. Then the transformation started during my visit to La caverne d`Ali Baba en Luberon in Apt in search of the old wooden boxes. I love places like second hand shops, and I felt alive, adventurous and thoroughly happy – what a joy to be there in that cabinet of wonder!


I’m still in this joyful state as I reflect and write. The very first thing I discovered was a small wooden frame with four black & white pictures made in a photobox. A child smiles and makes funny faces, a knitted cap on his head.


These pictures had nothing to do with my idea of an altar but I felt strongly connected. I bought it along with all the other objects and placed it above my worktable in the studio, so the child and I could make eye-contact whenever we wanted. Though the frame isn’t visible, it is part of the altar. All the time, the child looked down on my work in progress. I’m not sure, but these four pictures seemed to me like a mirror, they showed me what I had been missing for a long time: ease and joy.


Believe it or not, I don’t make this up, but after I had found all my other treasures and piled them up at the checkout, I went back for a last stroll through the rooms and there I came across a second frame. The same child, in different clothes and slightly older, but still smiling and making funny faces.


Objets choisies

All the objects were arranged and rearranged over the period of a week until I felt I had found the final work, though it is a snap-shot. I made two objects myself, the shell-pieces from gypsum and the rope by twirling bast fibres. The ochre is from Roussillon and was added in a final step.


How do we talk about our existence? How do we educate ourselves about life, the universe and everything else? One way is through stories. Two forms are represented by the books. One is a collection of fables by La Fontaine, the other is a book explaining rocks and minerals. I was fascinated by the book about minerals. Though it is presenting facts it uses – at least to my German ears – a poetic language as if it is telling a story.


Qu`est-ce qui rappelle la couleur de la pleine lune par une nuit froide?

Where do we come together? Maybe around a table to share a meal. I chose the tablecloth because I liked the evidence that someone must have cared about it and mended the little holes by darning them in a very dignified way around the edges. Something is torn, but we try to fix it. The damage is named and visible and not yet gone, it is still with us, on our tables.


The rhino is cool. I liked the idea of a rhino under a tablecloth (more than a bull in a china shop). The horn echoes in the rusted beaky tool. I have no clue what this majestic creature stands for but for me it has to stand on a closed suitcase. We know where the keys are, but to me it felt mysterious. Heavy animal on light travel item. Use your imagination.


When I cleaned the suitcases I carefully wiped out the dust from their journeys to keep it.


Une roche légère

The coconut can travel thousands of kilometers on the waves of the ocean. A shell with a seed floats above corals and sea shells, whose marine ancestors have died billons of years ago to form sediments with large amounts of calcium. The same alkaline earth metal I learn about from a book for children. This chemical element is also found in rich amounts all over Europe in different sediments, for example in those de la mer du Zechstein where it settled during the late Lopingian. And this is where the gypsum for my egg- or bone-like shells came from.


Chaque paquet de sel acheté chez l`épicier, s`il pouvait parler, raconterait une belle histoire!

The cicada is made of clay, heavy and glazed in bright red. I chose it as a counterpart to the black rhino. There are a lot of different species of cicadas, not all of them can or want to sing. Those species who do sing are pretty loud and noisy… But a species like homo sapiens should rather not judge different forms of communication of its fellow creatures while slowly forgetting how important it is to listen.


Blessless Mahoney, Ménerbes, August 2020

 


Dieses Video gibt einen kurzen Einblick, wie eine der Zweitidentitäten meine Installation im Ausstellungsraum des Dora Maar Hauses mit dem Ocker-Staub aus Roussillon vollendet.



Dort sind bereits die ersten Video-Interviews zu sehen, die im Rahmen des CoArt-Projektes geführt wurden. Fast alle Interviews sind in englischer Sprache. Zwei davon möchte ich Euch ans Herz legen, jedoch empfehle ich vorher das Gespräch zwischen Daniel Plettenberg, Gwen Strauss und Christoph Klütsch über die Gründe das CoArt-Projekt ins Leben zu rufen.



Video Interviews CoART Mama Lynch (41.36 Min., YouTube)


Interview mit Mama Lynch - Immigrant Drag Queen, Performer, Artist, Activist, Spain & Brasil



Die bezaubernde Daria, die bei den Wahlverwandtschaften in Hamburg 2019 den Vortrag „Die Suche nach Wahlverwandtschaften in querer Geschichte“ hielt und mich sehr berührt hat, ist hier im Gespräch mit Christoph von der Provence Academy zu sehen. Die beiden sprechen über Abject. Mir hat es geholfen, schnell mal im Netz nachzuschauen, was sich dahinter verbirgt.



Und zum Abschluss hier die Verlinkung zu einem französisch-sprachigen Arte-Beitrag über die Künstlerin Dora Maar und ihren Bezug zum Luberon Tal. Von Minute 2.30 bis Minute 5.27 werden Bilder des Dora Maar Hauses gezeigt und Sie können erahnen, wie ich mit leichter Sommermode durch die Räumlichkeiten schwebend meinen Inspirationen folgte. Das Fenster, das sich bei Minute 5.20 zum Tal hin öffnet gehört zur Bibliothek und war morgens früh einer meiner Ausblicke zum Tee trinken.



Und hier ein kleiner Spaziergang durch den Ort Ménerbes, wo sich das Dora Maar Haus befindet. Ein Film von groscharles13.


Ménerbes - Luberon (7.26 Min., YouTube)


Reisetipp: Immer eine Sache an einem schönen Ort nicht machen, damit Sie einen Grund haben, wiederzukommen. Die kleine Patisserie neben dem Dora Maar Haus wartet also noch auf meinen Besuch.

243 Ansichten0 Kommentare

Aktuelle Beiträge

Alle ansehen

Ornithologisches

bottom of page